Fort Wayne & NE Indiana News

The latest positive news written by residents and organizations in our community.

2018 Lilly Scholars Announced!

Five Allen County students will receive full-tuition, four-year scholarships as the Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

The following students have been selected to receive a scholarship to an Indiana college of their choice and a $900 yearly book stipend for required books and equipment:

  • Dora Carlisle, South Side High School, plans to attend Indiana University – Bloomington to pursue a degree in Psychology.
  • Sydney Gamble, Leo Jr/Sr High School, will attend Indiana University – Bloomington to pursue a degree in Advertising/Media.
  • Olivia Styhl, Leo Jr/Sr High School, will attend Ball State University to pursue a degree in Nursing.
  • Vanessa Murillo-Vallejo, South Side High School, will attend University of Saint Francis to pursue a degree in Nursing.
  • Alicia Ngo, Carroll High School, will attend Purdue University to pursue degree in Biochemistry.

“On behalf of Allen County, we want to express our appreciation and gratitude to Lilly Endowment Inc. and Independent College of Indiana for providing this very generous support,” remarked Brad Little, President and CEO of the Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne. “It’s a privilege to help these deserving young people reach their academic goals, and we wish them much continued success on their educational journeys.”

Eighty-three Allen County students applied to their high school and twenty-seven applications were nominated for review by the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Selection Committee at the Community Foundation. Eligible Allen County students have to demonstrate successfully overcoming an obstacle, financial need, academic performance, work and community involvement and a personal statement of goals.

After the Selection Committee narrowed the field, the finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana for the final selection of the recipients. Independent Colleges of Indiana is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally-accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. There were 143 Lilly Scholarships awarded statewide.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.