Fort Wayne & NE Indiana News

The latest positive news written by residents and organizations in our community.

The Indiana Academy Inducts USF Trustee For Lifetime Achievement And Contribution

University of Saint Francis Board of Trustee member Jeanne Mirro was inducted into The Indiana Academy at its 45th annual symposium on Monday, October 19, at the Skyline Club in Indianapolis. Along with three other honorees from around the state, Mirro was recognized by the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for a lifetime of achievement and contribution to the state of Indiana.

Mirro is a lifelong civic leader, philanthropist and advocate of the arts. She leverages her leadership talents to promote healthcare research, education and the arts. She and her husband have been instrumental in the building of the Mirro Center for Research and Innovation on the Parkview Hospital campus in Fort Wayne. President of the Mirro Family Foundation and a past member and chair of the Indiana Arts Commission, she has served on the Board of Trustees for the University of Saint Francis since 2003 and the Fort Wayne Ballet since 2011, for which she’s currently board president.

Modeled after The French Academy, The Indiana Academy was established in 1970 by the Independent Colleges of Indiana to recognize individual leadership, achievement and philanthropy designed to promote the advancement of the state, as well as its independent sector of higher education. With ongoing support from Academy members and a generous and enduring gift from the Tony and Mary Fendrich Hulman Endowment Fund, ICI continues to serve the state and its member institutions to help ensure academic excellence and choice in higher education for all students.

A complete listing of Academy members may be found at