Fort Wayne & NE Indiana News

The latest positive news written by residents and organizations in our community.

1st Source Honors 17 Area Volunteer Leaders With Community Leadership Award

1st Source Bank honored 17 nominees of the 1st Source Ernestine M. Raclin Community Leadership Award yesterday at an award ceremony at Orchard Ridge Country Club. The 17 nominees are employees of 1st Source business clients and they were recognized for their volunteer leadership in the community.

At the ceremony, three nominees were selected as recipients of a special Community Leadership Award including Beverly Goff of Goff Insurance; Loretta Loy of Nana’s Creations and Pam Brookshire of Brightpoint. Each winner will receive a personal cash award, a donation to the charity of their choice and a globe of leadership.

“1st Source is pleased to recognize 17 outstanding volunteer leaders in our community,” said Larry Mayers, 1st Source President in Fort Wayne. “It is an honor to recognize the impact that each of these individuals has made on our community. We encourage others to follow in their footsteps.”

Bev Goff, an agent with Goff Insurance, was recognized for her volunteer service to Redemption House Ministry, Jubilee House Ministry, the Fort Wayne Rescue Mission, and Greater Fort Wayne, Inc. Bev is a tireless community leader who has made an impact on the lives of many people in Fort Wayne.

Loretta Loy, owner of Nana’s Creations, was honored for her creativity and thoughtfulness in making over 1,000 blankets and donating them to area fire stations, schools and other organizations that could use the blankets to help someone in need.

Pam Brookshire, Vice President of Community Services at Brightpoint, was recognized for her role with the statewide organization Covering Kids and Families, as well as the local group Healthier Moms and Babies, which Pam has led through a phase of growth. Thanks to her leadership, young mothers have the resources they need to stay healthy and build skills to help their babies become healthy children.

Other award nominees include Dale Bloom with Burt, Blee, Dixon and Sutton; Scott Dubbelde with W.C. Borchelt & Sons; Cindy Elzy from Rich’s Auto Center; Dick Fox of Fox and Fox Service; Kathryn Gentz with the Jack Laurie Group; Greg Greaf with Greaf Enterprises; Jeremy Hostetler with Christen Souers; Mo Palmer of the North Anthony Corridor Group; Melissa Rohwer of Moe’s Southwest Grill; Latika O’Quinn of WGE; Ben Romine of the Romine Group; Chris Straw of Team Quality Services; Willie Swygart of Xymmetrix; and David Umber of Umbers Do It Best.