Fort Wayne & NE Indiana News

The latest positive news written by residents and organizations in our community.
Business   |   Family   |   Sports

TinCaps Game Notes: May 30 vs. West Michigan (Game 49)

Fort Wayne TinCaps (19-29) vs. West Michigan Whitecaps (25-24)

RHP Michael Kelly (0-0, 19.29) vs. RHP Jeff Thompson (2-4, 4.46)

Saturday, May 30, 2015 — Parkview Field — First Pitch 7:05 p.m. — Game 49

ABOUT LAST NIGHT: Franmil Reyes bombed the first pitch he saw from reliever Gage Smith over the left-field wall in the bottom of the 12th, leading Fort Wayne to a 5-4 walkoff win over West Michigan. It was Reyes’ third home run of the year; he finished 3-for-6 with a double as well on Friday night. The TinCaps compiled a season-high seven extra-base hits and six players recorded multi-hit games.

Friday night was the fourth walk-off win of the season. In addition to Reyes’ clutch-ness, Felipe Blanco has delivered two game-winning hits and Edwin Moreno has one as well. Fort Wayne is 4-2 in extra innings this year.

Since returning to Parkview Field on May 26th, Fort Wayne’s pitching staff has been nearly lights out. Over the last six games, the entire staff has a sizzling 1.89 ERA. Pitchers have recorded 38 strikeouts compared to just 17 walks in 47 2/3 total innings. That’s a ratio of better than 2:1. In the previous 15 games before the homestand started on Tuesday, Fort Wayne’s team ERA was 5.51 during that span.

The TinCaps lead the MWL in extra-base hits with 143. Fort Wayne has 97 doubles (1st in the league), 18 triples (tied 2nd), and 28 home runs (tied 4th). Fort Wayne hit 5 doubles, 1 triple, and 1 home run on Friday.

RAIN, RAIN GO AWAY: The TinCaps have played 216 consecutive games at Parkview Field without a postponement. The last postponed game in Fort Wayne was on May 31, 2012 against Great Lakes.

THE OTHER GUYS: West Michigan’s roster features the following Top 30 Detroit Tigers prospects according to No. 2 Derek Hill (OF), No. 6 Spencer Turnbull (RHP), No. 11 Joe Jimenez (RHP), No. 12 Artie Lewicki (RHP)*, No. 18 Adam Ravenelle (RHP)*, No. 21 Joey Pankake (INF), No. 22 Shane Zeile (C), No. 25 Zach Shepherd (INF), No. 30 Michael Gerber (OF). *Disabled List