Fort Wayne & NE Indiana News

The latest positive news written by residents and organizations in our community.
Business   |   Government

Fort Wayne Million Mile Award

After 30 years of working through rain, sleet, snow and heat, seven Fort Wayne letter carriers will receive the Million Mile Award for safe driving at on Sept. 30, 2016. The Million Mile Club is part of the Safe Driver Award program created by the National Safety Council. The Safe Driver Award is the trademark of the expert driver and is recognized as the nation’s highest award for professional safe driving.

A postal employee may be nominated for lifetime enrollment in the NSC’s Million Mile Club if he or she drives without being involved in a preventable motor vehicle accident for a cumulative total of one million miles or 30 years. Carriers with more than 45 years of safe driving receive the Two Million Mile Award.

The following carriers will receive their awards on Friday, Sept. 30, 2016 at 7:45 am, 2525 Independence Dr, Fort Wayne, IN 46808.

Centennial Station: Robert Emmett, Linda Quillen, Jan Salway and Mike Vogelwede

Diplomat Station: Barbara Smith

Gabriel Station: Mike McCray and Philip Velez

“We’re always proud and thrilled to present this award,” said Fort Wayne Postmaster Kathryn Harris. “The safety of our employees and the community is a top priority.”

The Postal Service has the world’s largest civilian fleet with approximately 220,000 vehicles. Close to 350,000 letter carriers and truck drivers log more than 1 billion miles annually when delivering to American’s more than 152 million addresses.