Fort Wayne & NE Indiana News

The latest positive news written by residents and organizations in our community.

The Allen County Bar Association Will Recognize 500 Years Of Legal Expertise From Indiana University

On Tuesday, September 29, 2015, the Allen County Bar Association (ACBA) will recognize 13 area attorneys for their outstanding professional and civic accomplishments in the local community. The event will be held at the Grand Wayne Center located at 120 W Jefferson Blvd, Fort Wayne, IN at noon.

Honorees will include 10 attorneys who will receive the Golden Career Recognition Award for their dedication to the legal professional in the community for fifty years. Of the awardees, nine graduated from the Indiana University Mauer School of Law and one graduated from the Indiana University McKinney School of Law. Honorees include: Sherrill William Colvin (Mauer, ’65); Leonard Eilbacher (Mauer, ‘65); P. Michael Miller (Mauer, ‘65); John W. Whiteleather, Jr. (Mauer, ‘65); Phillip H. Larmore (Mauer, ‘65); Kenneth L. Scrogham (McKinney, ’65); Vincent J. Backs (Mauer, ‘65); Phillip R. Terrill (Mauer, ‘65); Robert A. Wagner (Mauer, ‘64); Stephen J. Williams (Mauer, ‘65);

Also honored will be:

· David C. Van Gilder for the Niemann Citation for Excellence and Professionalism. The Niemann Citation was established by the ACBA in 2004 to honor the memory of Scott T. Niemann. The purpose of the citation is to recognize ACBA members who, like Scott, exemplify professionalism and excellence in the practice of law, as reflected in distinguished legal work, professionalism, public service, and/or leadership.

· Rachel E. Blakeman for the ACBA Outstanding Service Award for outstanding service to the ACBA as shown through leadership, dedication and innovation.

· Frederick A. Beckman for the Lifetime Achievement Award for exemplary service and dedication to the legal community and the public throughout his career.