Fort Wayne & NE Indiana News

The latest positive news written by residents and organizations in our community.
Business   |   Sports

TinCaps Game Notes: August 6 @ Burlington (Game 108)

Fort Wayne TinCaps (23-16, 55-52) @ Burlington Bees (15-24, 50-58)

LHP Thomas Dorminy (8-7, 3.39) vs. RHP Austin Robichaux (8-5, 3.57)

Thursday, August 6, 2015 — Community Field (Burlington, Iowa) — First Pitch 7:30 p.m. — Game 108

ABOUT LAST NIGHT: Fort Wayne was shut out by Burlington, 5-0. The Bees scored twice in the second, once in the third, and twice more in the fifth. All of their runs were driven in with two outs. In fact, all 10 of their hits on the night came over those three innings and eight of them were with two outs.

DOUBLING DOWN: First baseman Trae Santos doubled Wednesday for the 27th time this season. Only Lansing’s Ryan McBroom (34) has more in the Midwest League. Moreover, Santos’ 38 extra-base hits are the third most in the circuit.

HOME IS WHERE THE WINS ARE: The TinCaps are 34-22 at Parkview Field this season and 21-30 on the road. Those records are consistent with the other seven teams in the Eastern Division this year. Only Lansing (30-25) has a winning road record in 2015.

ON THIS DAY IN BASEBALL HISTORY: Cy Young made his major league debut for the Cleveland Spiders in 1890 as he earned the first of 511 victories in his career. The Cy Young Award was created in his honor in 1956. The honor was divided into two awards (one for each league) in 1967… Tony Gwynn recorded his 2,000th career hit in 1993, and then his 3,000th in 1999 against the Expos in Montreal. Gwynn is one of only 29 players to have reached the milestone.

FIRST PLACE: Despite Wednesday’s loss, the TinCaps still lead West Michigan by 1.5 games for first place in the MWL Eastern Division with 31 games remaining in the regular season.

WINNING STREAK OVER: The TinCaps’ longest winning streak of the season ended at seven with Wednesday’s setback. The last time they had a streak of seven consecutive wins or more was when the team won nine straight from June 2-11 in 2013. The franchise record for consecutive wins is 10, which happened twice in 2009 (April 9-19, July 1-10). That year the TinCaps went on to win the Midwest League Championship Series against Burlington in a three-game sweep.


Place Team W-L GB GB WC Streak

1. FORT WAYNE 23-16 — — L1

2. West Michigan 21-17 1.5 — W2

3. Lansing* 21-18 2.0 0.5 W4

4. Bowling Green 19-20 4.0 2.5 L4

5. South Bend 19-20 4.0 2.5 W1

6. Lake County 18-20 4.5 3.0 L2

7. Dayton 18-21 5.0 3.5 W1

8. Great Lakes** 15-24 8.0 6.5 L5

* First Half Division Winner ** First Half Wild Card Winner